- 139, Hyanggyo-gil, Wansan-gu, Jeonju-si
Jeonjuhyanggyo Confucian School, the cradle of local education during the Joseon Dynasty period
The Jeonjuhyanggyo Confucian School was an educational institute in the Joseon period, equivalent to a present-day middle or high school.
It was founded in 1354 (the 3rd year of King Gongmin’s reign in the Goryeo period).
In 1603 (the 36th year of King Seonjo’s reign in the Joseon period), the mobile inspector Jang Man reported that the Jeonjuhyanggyo Confucian School infringed upon the regulation of altars being on the left and shrines being on the right side.
With the approval from the King, the Jeonjuhyanggyo Confucian School was moved to the present location.
The Jeonjuhyanggyo Confucian School is proud of its dimension and was powerful enough to be called the Capital Confucian Schools, with 53 Confucian schools being from Jeolla-do.
It is a large-scale building, with 99 Kans in total, including Daeseongjeon Hall with 3 Kans (Kan: traditional Korean unit meaning the distance between pillars or beams), Dongmu (auxiliary shrine on the east), and Seomu (auxiliary shrine on the west) have 10 Kans in each, Gyeseongsa, Shinmun, and Ipdeokmun Gate with 3 Kans each, Samajae has 4 Kans, Yangsajae has 6 Kans, Chaekpango, administration office, Jegigo (storage for utensils used for ancestral rites), and Suboksil have 2 Kans each.